Another year of school behind me

As a part of my training at Moody Bible Institute to be a missionary aviator, I get trained in fixing and maintaining aircraft. In the end I will earn an aircraft technician’s license. Going into this program, this is the portion of the training that I felt the most worried or anxious about before starting.

Even though I felt like aviation was the right field for me, I was worried that the mechanics aspect of the training would perhaps be something that would not have fit me. I have no previous experience or background working with metal or engines. I was never that kind of guy who took apart the family car motor and put them back together again before my dad had time to notice or the dude who rather learn by himself to build a radio so that he did not have to buy a new one when his broke. Everything, and I do mean everything, in aviation mechanics was completely new to me when I first began. So, I was concerned that I perhaps was not up for the task of learning this field of study. I was wondering whether it would click with me at all.

I started the technical training at Moody last August. Now, soon a year later, I am on summer break after a year of overcoming the fear of not being able to perform. When studying for tests at the beginning of last semester I was worried whether I would pass or not. Now, towards the end of this semester when studying for a test, I was confident I would pass but knew that I would put in a lot of work to do so. Going into this next year I feel like this whole thing can be done. This year has been a radical transformation of my attitude and confidence towards this field of ministry I’m getting into.

A kick plate for a Cessna 150 that I constructed and primed before painting and installation.
A kick plate for a Cessna 150 that I constructed and primed before painting and installation.

I take this as a confirmation from God that this is what He has for me. Moving 7500 miles west from Sweden to Spokane, to study at Moody Aviation, not knowing what I’m actually have given myself into and with the sense of that Jesus wanted me to do so as my only actual source of confidence in stepping out in this adventure has been quite the trip. With all that said, I will conclude that I would never had carried on with this if It wasn’t for that God seems to be confirming this call through growing my confidence in it. The reason that He was the source and motivation behind all this in the first place is the reason why I believe this growth of confidence in me is from Him.

The first part for an operating and airworthy aircraft I constructed: the kick plate (black) below the rudder and brake pedals.
The first part for an operating and airworthy aircraft I constructed: the kick plate (black) below the rudder and brake pedals.
Leave a Reply

